The Minister of Health, Community Development, Gender, The Elderly and Children, Dr Dorothy Gwajima has urged the newly elected National Council of Non-Government Organizations (NACONGO) leadership to work diligently and hold the highest standard in the execution of their roles following the council’s elections held on July 5 this year.

‘’I appeal to the new leaders, delegates and representatives selected in various roles to execute their duties with the highest standards. Work in line with the laws, regulations and guidelines’’ she said

Dr Gwajima congratulated the new NaCoNGO chairperson Lilian Badi, Secretary-General Revocatus Sono, Treasurer John Kiteve, subcommittee chairpersons and board members on being elected to their respective roles.

The newly chairperson is Lilian Badi and the secretary general is Revocatus Sono. Elected subcommittee chairperson are Gaidon Haule (Administration and Finance), Rhobi Samwelly (Capacity Building) Tunukiwa Daudi (Representing International NGOs), Rogers Fungo (Representing Youth), Godwin Mongi (Representing Children), Lupi Maswanya (Representing people with disabilities)

Dr Gwajima said NACONGO is a vital link between civil society and the government. The council’s failure to hold elections in 2019 as initially scheduled meant the supervisory organ were unable to execute their mandate in accordance to the law.

‘’I would like to thank the transition election committee members for your service and selflessness in overseeing the elections. I commend you for agreeing to volunteer your time without pay. There are many challenges that you faced along the way but you have completed the elections well with great success’’, Dr Gwajima said

The ten-member Transition committee comprised of Ms Flaviana Charles, chairperson of the Coalition for Women Human Rights Defenders in Tanzania (CWHRDsTZ); Mr Francis Kiwanga, executive director of the Foundation for Civil Society (FCS); Dr Tulli Tuhuma of JSI, and Mr Edward Porokwa, coordinator of the Pastoralist Indigenous Non-Governmental Organisations Forum (Pingos Forum). Others are Ms Tike Mwambipile, executive director of the Tanzania Women Lawyers Association (Tawla); Mr Yassin Ally, WiLDAF executive director; Mr Audax Rukonge of Ansaf; Gunendu Roy, BRAC country representative, and Dr Astronaut Bagile, Executive Director of WIDE.

She also received the transition committee’s report and recommendtions and promised to work on them